Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week #9

Hello, my lovelies! Sunday is upon us again, which means it’s time to reflect on the week gone by and pick my favourite parts. This week’s been a mixed bag and I must admit, I’ve ended it feeling pretty low. But, I’m going to fight hard not to let my feelings get the better of me and keep looking forward. Here’s a handful of things that made me smile this week.

1) Waffle Wednesday

Waffles

Wednesday was undoubtedly one of the best days we’ve ever had at work. In honour of a new team member starting, a few of the girls volunteered to make everyone waffles for breakfast. Armed with four waffle makers, they did an absolutely incredible job and they’ve set the bar high for any future breakfasts. We had so many toppings to choose from, including Nutella, maple syrup, whipped cream; you name it! As if that wasn’t enough, we also had pizza for lunch for another colleague’s leaving do. SO. MUCH. FOOD.

2) Delivering training

On Thursday, I headed to Glasgow with one of my colleagues to deliver our very first content training session to one of our clients. I was incredibly nervous, but tried my hardest to deliver a confident presentation. It went pretty well and I’m glad I can say I’ve officially delivered training to a client. I hope later this year I’ll be able to deliver another, more polished session to another one of our clients.

3) Seeing a new doctor

It’s not often that a trip to the doctor makes you smile! But, I’ve recently had to register with a new surgery after moving flats. I was upset to leave my current practice, as I’d grown fond of the doctor I was seeing. Thankfully, I met a new doctor on Friday who was just as nice and we had a very positive conversation. I’m feeling a lot more comfortable about my appointments now and feel I can confide in her, which is great.

4) Ordering new glasses

Corgi wearing glasses

I’ve been meaning to visit the opticians again for so long! I was given my first pair of glasses well over two years ago now and my eyesight has definitely deteriorated since. So, I finally went to Specsavers on Saturday for an eye test and ordered a new pair of glasses, as well as prescription sunglasses. No more sitting my sunnies on top of my glasses when driving! I’m so excited to pick up my new pair of glasses next Monday. I’ve chosen a completely different shape to the ones I’m used to, so can’t wait to rock a new style!

5) Going out for drinks

I haven’t drank much at all this year in between doing Dry January, then being doped up on painkillers after hurting my ankle. I now find it a little overwhelming when I do drink, so haven’t been drinking nearly as much as I used to. But, I headed out on Saturday night to a few pubs and had a lovely time with the person I was with. I visited the Hanover Tap for the first time since it changed hands from Jekyll and Hyde and almost wept at how different it is. I really did love the gothic vibe of Jekyll and Hyde, which has been completely eradicated. To get over the shock, we ended the night in my favourite bar in Edinburgh, The Basement.

One thought on “Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week #9

Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear that you’ve been a bit low, darling. If you ever need a listening ear, let me know! The waffle breakfast bonanza sounds and looks AMAZING. Honestly, my stomach was rumbling just thinking about it haha. How brilliant is breakfast?! Also, great job on the presentation!! Hopefully your confidence will build the more you do because it sounds like you did brilliantly 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

