Flash Five: Makeup Essentials

I’m pretty set in my ways when it comes to makeup. I’m not into contouring or highlighting. I won’t spend an obscene amount on eyeshadow or lip palettes. I have my favourites that I go to and don’t tend to venture outside my comfort zone. It took me a while to find products that I like, so I wanted to share my top five makeup essentials with you!

1) MAC Matchmaster Foundation

While I don’t like to spend too much on makeup, I swear by this foundation. I find that I can’t go back to cheaper, drugstore alternatives because they just don’t offer the same amount of coverage. I find MAC Matchmaster really easy to apply and a few drops goes a long way, which means I don’t have to fork out on a new bottle often. Once you go MAC, you never go back.

2) Revlon PhotoReady Concealer

Back in my price range, I’m so glad I discovered this Revlon concealer. It matches my skin tone perfectly and is so easy to use in a lipstick-style case. It’s also a handy size to carry about with me, if I ever need to top up my face throughout the day. The only downside to this concealer is it’s really hard to find! I usually manage to scavenge one in Boots, but they often don’t have any left or even stock it at all in some stores.

3) Benefit They’re Real! Mascara

I used to wonder why there are so many mascaras available, but once you’ve tried a few, you understand. It’s not just a case of adding some colour to your lashes; every brush is different and can make or break your look. I’ve fallen in love with this Benefit mascara. It separates the lashes well and really does lift them up. It’s gotten to the stage where I automatically look tired if I’m not wearing it!

4) Collection 2000 Fast Stroke Eyeliner

Don’t be fooled that you have to break the bank to find a good eyeliner. I’ve tried loads of pricey options and always come back to this affordable find! It’s just so easy to apply with a sturdy brush that fends off mistakes. Why carry a tub and brush about with you when you can grab this and go? It also stays on for ages, as many a drunken night has taught me…

5) Benefit Gimme Brow

Another Benefit product makes the list! I go to the Benefit Brow Bar to get my eyebrows waxed and tinted, which is how I discovered this gem. It’s not a powder or pencil, which I’ve tried in the past. It’s a gel that matches the shade of my eyebrows exactly, so makes them look full and natural. All you need to do is brush it onto your real brows to give them some definition and shape. I couldn’t live without this product now!

One thought on “Flash Five: Makeup Essentials

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

