Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week #20

Happy Sunday, guys. If you’re anything like me, you’ll have drank too much last night, slept half the day away and now can’t move from the couch. But, that’s what Sundays are for, right? Despite having Monday off work this week, it felt like the longest working week of my life. I’ve been so tired recently, which you may have noticed by the lack of posts on here. There never seems to be enough hours in the day to get everything done, but I’m trying not to get too stressed. Summer is almost here and I’ve got exciting things to look forward to, which I need to remind myself of in weeks like this. Exhaustion aside, here’s the highlights of the week gone by.

1) Going back to the gym (really, this time!)

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned, but I tore ligaments in my ankle at the start of February and it hasn’t been the same since. It took ages for me to be able to walk without pain. I tried to brave the gym a few weeks ago, but my ankle was aching the next day. The worst thing I could do is not give it enough time to heal properly, so I parked the gym. But, this week I finally felt up to trying it again. I managed to go three times this week, sticking to the bike and weights, and my ankle has been okay. I hope I can get back into a good routine and shift some of this unwanted weight!

2) Getting a Fitbit

Fitbit Alta

Remember I told you I won a Fitbit at work a month or so ago? Well, I returned to work on Tuesday to find it waiting for me! I got the limited edition black and gold Alta, and it’s so pretty. It’s definitely motivated me to walk more already – the guilt when you don’t hit your target steps is overwhelming! The only downside is it doesn’t seem to pick up when I’m exercising at the gym, but you can add what you did manually, so it’s not the end of the world. I like that it can track your sleep, too.

3) Ladies lunch

If you haven’t already gathered, we love our lunches at work! Not only do we go for team lunches frequently, all the ladies head out for a lunch every now and then. It’s great for keeping morale up and getting to chat to folk who you might not usually speak to every day. This time, we went to Las Iguanas and I had the chicken enchilada with a mountain of refried beans. If you’re a fan of Mexican, I recommend giving Las Iguanas a go. Their service is speedy and they do 2 for 1 on cocktails every single day…

4) Going to the theatre myself

Jane Eyre set

I’m an advocate for spending time alone and learning to feel comfortable in your own skin. This week, I branched out and booked a ticket to see Jane Eyre at the Festival Theatre all by myself. I figured that I go to the cinema alone, so why should the theatre be any different? I absolutely adore Jane Eyre, it’s one of my all-time favourite books; I’ve seen the TV adaptations, the movies, and live-action plays. To say I was disappointed by this rendition is an understatement. They tried to modernise it by having a band onstage, but the final straw for me was when they sang Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy”. No, just no.

5) Dinner and drinks

I ventured out on Saturday night with Gus for dinner and drinks. We went to the new Wagamama at St. Andrew’s Square and it was bloody delicious! We even got a free dessert because they (very nicely) asked us to move to a smaller table because a bigger group came in. I was dying to try The Refinery next door while we were there and I’m so glad we did. It’s gorgeous inside! Their food menu looked lovely, so I’ll definitely be back soon to try it. We went on a mini pub crawl afterwards and ended up in Banshee’s Labyrinth again, which I don’t really remember leaving…

3 thoughts on “Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week #20

Add yours

  1. Don’t tell anybody, but I think your happiness posts are one of my favourites to read. I can always really feel the joy and positivity coming through, it’s infectious! I love Jane Eyre too so I’m very jealous that you got to see it but super proud that you were comfortable enough to go by yourself. Great work getting back to the gym too! It sounds like you had an awesome mix of productivity and fun this week! Hoping for more of the same for you this week! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re such a sweetheart ❤️ I’ve got another Escape Room to look forward to this week, then seeing the poodles at the weekend, so should be good! Hope you have a brilliant one x

      Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

