Five Things That Made Me Smile This Week #24 & #25

Oh hey, how you doing? I haven’t forgotten about you! Life has just been crazy busy right now, thanks to moving into my first ever flat! Amongst other things, that means I’ve been deprived of previous Wi-Fi, so didn’t manage to get my weekly round-up done last weekend. But, I’ve snagged a BT hotspot, so it’s business as usual today! Here’s a handful of things that have made me smile over the last fortnight.

1) Moving flat

Naturally, this has consumed my life since getting the keys last Friday. I won’t lie to you, it’s been stressful as hell. But, of course, it has made me happy too. I finally have a place to call my own. If I want to paint the walls, I can; if I want to replace the carpet, I can; if I want to put pictures up, I can. No more letting agents, no more landlords, no more inspections. Oh, and I can finally get a pet if I want one!

2) Annual leave

I’ve had the past week off work to sort out everything with the flat. While it has absolutely flown by and I’ve never been so exhausted after time off, it was most definitely needed. What’s even better, I’ve only got three weeks back at work before I’m off for another week to watch the girls while my brother is away.

3) Seeing Paramore

I got to see my favourite band for the first time in eight years on Thursday. While many have left Paramore in their teenage years, I’ve remained a dedicated fan. If you saw them on this tour, you’d know why. I’m absolutely loving their new sound and would recommend giving their latest album a listen, if you haven’t already.

4) A random act of kindness

There’s nothing quite as lovely as a random act of kindness shown by a stranger. My mum and I were in the lift of my new flat block and a woman carrying a pretty bouquet of flowers joined us. Mum complimented them and moments later, the woman gave us half of the bouquet to take with us! She said she was a florist, so has plenty to go around, but it was a lovely gesture from one of my neighbours. The flowers are sitting pride of place in my living room…

5) The Royal Highland Show

I went to the Royal Highland Show for the first time today, which meant I spent the day surrounded by animals – bliss! I was thrilled at how close you could get to them, so I was in my element patting horses, cows, goats and sheep. We watched some showjumping and sheep shearing, as well as the heavy horse parade. Not to mention, nearly everyone brought their dog with them!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

